"General lack of compassion"

About: Glasgow Royal Infirmary / Trauma & orthopaedics

(as the patient),

Firstly, my surgeon was exceptional and is a credit to the NHS.  Personable, professional and bedside manner was fantastic. I cannot thank my surgeon enough for everything. 

However, in my opinion some of the nurses in ward 62 need at best, trained in the fundamentals of basic patient care.

Some of the incidents which occurred were: withholding pain relief, not removing urine for twenty minutes after being informed, expecting me to bend down to put on my right sock myself because ‘my left hip had been replaced’, refusing to help me dress and when eventually attempting to dress me, trying to embarrass me by aggressively telling me to remain covered up, not communicating with me about my care, refusing to help me to self administer Clexane injections (and telling me to ‘read the leaflet’), withholding information and a general lack of compassion.

The worst offenders seriously need to read up on the 7Cs.

Some of the nurses were absolutely fantastic however, and I want to say thank you for the ones who did treat me like a person. 

More about:

Responses

Response from Nicole McInally, Patient Experience and Public Involvement Manager, Patient Experience and Public Involvement Team, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

picture of Nicole McInally

Dear Patient 62

Thank you for getting in touch. What you have described is not the standard of care that we would expect for our patients and we sincerely apologise for this.

There are a number of issues you have raised here and I think it is important that we look into in greater detail. My email is Nicole.McInally@ggc.scot.nhs.uk and I would appreciate you getting in touch, with your personal details (name, date of birth). Please be assured that we will be highlighting this with the ward team so that we can learn from this and improve the care we provide to our patients.

Kind Regards

Nicole

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Nicole McInally, Patient Experience and Public Involvement Manager, Patient Experience and Public Involvement Team, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

picture of Nicole McInally

Dear Patient 62

Thank you for getting in touch. I hope you found your phone call with Lesley helpful and reassuring. As we discussed we will take this forward with the ward team.

Please accept our sincere apologies.

Kind Regards

Susan McFadyen

General Manager - Surgery

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
;