"pre care assessment"

About: Finchley Memorial Hospital

I attended the walk in centre after burning parts of my hands and arms after a pressure cooker exploded. I tried to self treat but a few days later I am in pain and small blisters have started to form. I waited over an hour for the assessment that actually lasted less than 30secs .I was told that the burns were fine and I'd had a lucky escape. I find this interesting considering the nurse barely looked at my arms, I went in and I had to lead the conversatio. I was made to feel as though I was wasting their time. I was not asked about any ongoing pain, when i pointed out the blisters that were forming I was told to go home and use cream on my arms. Now this may well be the correct treatment but I don't feel as though my injuries were examined properly or thoroughly. I know it's late in the evening and the staff are trying to get through everyone but a little more attention would be nice. lets hope this nurse is correct in what they have told me............... oh and i was accused of pushing in line when I went to sign in, this was not true either and if the young man behind the counter had bothered to glance up he would've known I was next...... I explained that I wasn't in the business of jumping in front of others that might have been their before me. Overall a very poor experience!!!!!!!!!

Story from nhs.uk

Responses

Response from Finchley Memorial Hospital

Dear Neil

Thank you for sharing your experience on NHS Choices, having had burns myself I know how painful they can be and I hope you are recovering well.

I am sorry for the care you describe, one of our values is 'visibly reassuring' and we don't seem to have met that with you.

I hope any further contact you have with Finchley Memorial Hospital we are able to show you at our best.

Kind Regards

Richard

Richard Chester - deputy director of patient experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful