"Doctor excellent but let down by his secretary."

About: Leighton Hospital

What I liked

The doctor that I had previously been seen by was excellent. I have no doubt that he was and still is under a tremendous amount pf pressure: but he did not let this show. I felt that he spent time listening to me and considered what I wanted as well as giving his own personal opinion. He was personable, approachable and appeared to be the kind of doctor that applies common sense and discretion as opposed to a rigid, tunnel visioned approach adopted by some other doctors that I have encountered previously.

What could be improved

Unfotunately, I now have an additional related problem to my original injury. It is my experience of dealing with the doctor's secretary that has in my opinion spoilt my experience of dealing with this hospital. I have found it impossible to get the doctor's secretary to actually speak to him to ask a very simple question. All she is preapared to do is to leave a "note" on his desk. Dispite chasing her up several times (I'm sure this note has been buried under the mountain of subsequent correspondence received by the doctor ) I still have not received an answer. Worse than this in some respects is that I have complained by e-mail and spoken to the complaints tean verbally. Still to no avail. I understand that doctors are very busy but I can not comprehend the apparent aversion that a secretary has in speaking to a doctor. Although my question is simple - there is a certain amount of background information that the doctor would require to give me the advice that I need. This information would not be explained correctly on a "note" left on a desk. In view of this, if I did ever get a response, I'm sure it would be advice given without all of the facts or the doctor would end up having to speak to his secretary anyway. If leaving this "note" as opposed to actually speaking to each other was an attempt to save time: I think that in reality it will be less efficient than actually speaking to each other.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leighton Hospital

I am very sorry to hear that you have experienced such difficulties and would very much like the opportunity to put this right.

Please would you contact me on 01270 612038 and I will help you in whatever way I can.

Best wishes

Sam Pennance

Orthopaedic Service Manager

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful