You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page


About: Russells Hall Hospital

What I liked

i was in a&e on sunday the 12th feb and from the time i got there, was treated for somethin i had not got. the doctors do not bother about you and the one that was looking after me did come to see me after about two hours and nothen was said. i was keep in over night first on eau and then on ward c8, but was discarged monday tea time without my scan that the doctor said would be done at 9oclock on monday. i had to come back on tuesday afternoon for my scan where gallstone was present and was told i would get a letter in the post to see the consaltant. i have had this for 7weeks time i feel its more ergent cause my owen doctor has put me on morphine to kill the pain

What could be improved

you should make the staff talk to each other and less waiteing time for a bed 10hours we had to waite to get from a&e to eau and 5hour later got a bed on c8

Anything else?

i have deal with many hospitals over the years but this is the worse one i have come across

Story from


Response from Russells Hall Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your stay in our hospital.

We are concerned, however, by your comments about your stay as an inpatient. This is not the kind of experience we would want anyone to have as a patient in our care. We always strive to provide the highest standard of care and we are very sorry if, on this occasion, our standards fell short of those we aim to provide.

We are disappointed to hear that you were not kept informed about your diagnosis, test results and care plan. We do realise good communication is key to patients having a good experience when they visit the hospital.

Medical staff do receive training in effective communication and it appears that on this occasion we could have done better. Please accept our apologies for any upset this caused you. There is never an excuse for rude or patronising behaviour and we are sorry that you experienced this.

We welcome all feedback and would like to assure you that all comments are taken seriously and acted upon as part of our ongoing commitment to improving patient experience.

You have raised a number of issues, including the night staff talking loudly, which we would like to follow up so that we can learn from your experience. We would really appreciate you contacting our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0800 073 0510 to discuss your concerns in more detail.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful