"hernia operation"

About: Furness General Hospital / General surgery

(as the patient),

I was admitted to Furness General Hospital in Jan. 2011 for day surgery for a hernia. Following surgery, the surgeon advised me that he had unfortunately "nicked" my bladder and that I would need to wear a catheter for 10 days to allow the bladder to heal and that an Xray would be required before removal of the catheteter.

The surgeon was a locum who left the hospital the next day! I felt very worried about this and as an appointment was not received for Xray I telephoned that dept. but they did not know anything about me. I was passed between departments in an uncaring way.

Eventually,an appointment was arranged and a day bed was organised 14 days after the operation! Following xray, I was taken to the day ward. A little while later, the ward sister told me I would need to go home and return several days later keeping the catheter in place as the consultant had not received adequate notes from the consultant radiographer.

I complained bitterly as this meant another round trip of 28 miles not to mention the waste of a hospital bed for a day. The sister was very kind and took documents between both consultants allowing me to continue treatment on that day.

I must stress that the nursing staff were excellent!

In May 2011, I had to attend Lancaster A+ E as I had infectious matter pouring from one of the entry wounds due to an infection that had been introduced into the abdomen at the time of the operation! Not a pleasant experience.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospitals of Morecambe Bay NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for posting a comment on our services. We are sorry that you did not receive the care you expected and we are additionally sorry for our slow response to your comment, which is due to an email alert error. If you would like to discuss the changes we have made to our services since your comment, please call our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01539 795497.

Update posted by henrietta (the patient)

Your response is better late than never! I can only hope that the changes made have improved the communications between departments. I may well decide to talk to you about this matter. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to talk to someone.

Recently read