"Nottinghamshire nhs healthcare trust"

About: Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust / Adult Mental Health Services - Community (County)

(as a service user),

A friend of mine who is also under mental health services, requested a copy of her medical notes. When she received them there were some entries in her notes that named me directly and the comments were very derogatory.  I was really surprised that my name had appeared in someone elses notes and that they were then shared with my friend.

Her CPN had written that I was angry, anti services, engineering and worse of all malevolent which basically means evil. This person does not work with me directly and has not met me directly over the period they wrote the comments about me and it has been very distressing and triggering for both me and my friend to find such comments in her notes

If anyone read these comments they would have a very poor view of me which is untrue.

I have written to the CPN to ask for an explanation a few weeks ago but have had no response at all. I had hoped that we could talk through why they had such a poor view of me 

I have also written to the Trust to complain about a breach in data protection. Notes were sent to a third party with my full name on them without my consent. The ICO have advised me that this is a serious breach of data protection. I have had no response so far 

This has had a detrimental effect on my mental health making me paranoid - does everyone think I am evil? It has also had an impact on my friendship which has been very distressing for me

Responses

Response from Karen Osborne, Team Leader County South eCrht, Adult Mental Health, Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Dear 'madperson'

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I can understand and share some of the concerns you have raised and would like the opportunity to offer you time and support to discuss these concerns further

You have described how you have already taken some steps to try and get some answers to your concerns, however these remain unresolved.

I do understand that this may add to your levels of frustration of your experience within the NHS.

When things go wrong, as they can do, it is important that we try and work together in order to improve all aspects of our services to ensure that the risk of situations such as these are diminished.

It is unfortunate that this incident has had a detrimental effect upon your mental well-being, but I would like to assure you that help and support is available to you to manage your distress.

I would like to re-affirm our commitment to improving our standards of care across the service and offer you an opportunity to discuss your concerns further and find a satisfactory resolution.

My details are:

Karen Osborne; Team Leader County South CRHT

Tel: 0300 123 2901.

Please contact me to discuss further.

  • madperson thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Update posted by madperson (a service user)

I spoke to Karen and she was lovely and very supportive but unfortunately it is now 2 months since I sent my original complaint in and I have received nothing from the Trust at all

Recently read

Shift-Alt-R