"Restorative Dentistry - Waiting list closed"

About: University Of Bristol Dental Hospital

I was having restorative dentistry treatment at Cardiff's Dental Hospital until I moved to Bristol. I was referred to the Bristol Dental Hospital for continuation of this treatment which consisted of composite fillings over the teeth to restore tooth structure that has been eroded away. A long wait of approximately 1.5 hours ensured before being examined by the restorative specialist. I was then sent for x-rays which resulted in another 2+ hour wait for the x-ray to be taken and to revisit the restorative specialist. Upon sitting down, I was informed the restorative dentistry waiting list has been closed in Bristol for some time, consequently the work I required was not available in Bristol. I was also informed that should the waiting list re-open I could not have the treatment as it was too urgent. I cannot have the required treatment at an NHS dentist. I was told to go and shop around at various dentists and source the treatment myself, covering the complete cost myself. For the 4 hours I was at the dental hospital, it concluded with being sent a letter several weeks later and being told to go away and not come back. Not impressed. Surely the dental hospital having a closed Restorative Dentistry waiting list should be communicated to the public and not at the end of a very wasteful day for all concerned.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Of Bristol Dental Hospital

Hi there. Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS choices. We apologise for the inconvenience you have experienced and encourage you contact our patient support and complaints team via their email psct@uhbristol.nhs.uk or call 0117 342 1050. Many thanks.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful