"Ward 12 is a shambles"

About: Blackpool Victoria Hospital

My father is currently stuck on ward 12 and the treatment he has received is pitiful. Every member of staff you speak to tells you a different story when asked about the patients status. The ward is dirty with rubbish around and puddles on the floor. The patients toilets are disgusting and full of excrement. My dad has had to clean them himself before use. On Saturday night due to the medication he is on he had an accident in bed and when he asked if his bed could be changed he was told to sit down and then the staff proceeded within earshot of my dad redicule him and complain that he was getting on their nerves. I understand that they are busy and have a lot of patients but something like a clean bed is basic. My dad was left upset and felt undignified. Basic duty if care is not met at all. It is bad enough seeing someone you love ill but seeing them reduced to tears due to staff not.doing the job they signed up for is horrible. Its a disgrace.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Andrew Heath, Lead in Patient Experience & Engagement, Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

I am saddened to read your description of experience of the care that your Father has been receiving at The Blackpool Teaching Hospitals.

I am sorry to read the situation you have described and I have shared your account with the Matron for Ward 12 so that she can investigate your concerns. Please could I ask that you contact her as soon as you are able so that we can fully understand the experience you have described?

You can contact her through switchboard 01253 300000 or via Ward 12.

I will also visit Ward 12 today. So that we can get further details about what has happened and ensure that your concerns are fully investigated please can contact our Patient Relations team directly on


Thank you


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful