"urology appiontment"

About: Newham General Hospital / Urology

this afternoon at 1.30pm i had a urology appointment whilst there i had to give a urine sample and leave it on the shelf for the nurse to dip as most of the patients did i watched the nurse take the sample into a room ware i could see the sink as the door was open and not once did they wash or sanitize their hands with alcohol rub after they dipped the samples they went back to their desk and carried on handling patients notes and other paper work on top of that the whole time i was there they were chewing gum with a open mouth.firstly how unhygienic and secondly how unprofessional i think this nurse needs to be retrained in basic hygiene and im sure patients do not want to see someone slapping gum around there mouth im totally disgusted and if i did not have to go to newham general i wouldnt definitely would not recommend this hospital all i can say is bring back matrons they would never let this behavior happen

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Newham General Hospital

We are very sorry to read of your experience during your urology appointment and of the concerns you have raised here.

We would like to speak with you further regarding the concerns you have raised here so that we are able to investigate further. To do this; we ask if you could contact our PALS Team on 020 3594 2040 or by email: pals@bartshealth.nhs.uk.

Many thanks,

Barts Health NHS Trust

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful