"Very poor care, no dignity, no respect"

About: Darlington Memorial Hospital

My Nanna was recently admitted with infected celulitis and confusion due to infection. After several days we started to ask questions as we were not given any answers or information regarding her condition. On several occasions I could not understand the nurses as their English was so poor. I witnessed a male nurse seeing to personal issues and communicating in a rude and aggressive manner, at which point I had to step in. Since leaving the hospital we have found out she had a fall and is covered in bruises. We were not informed of this. We were not informed of any of the medical conditions that my Nanna has until moving to a new hospital. The very worst we have found out there was a DNR placed on her without her consent, or her next of kins consent. Disgusting care and a complaint has been placed.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Darlington Memorial Hospital

Dear Lisa

Thank you for providing feedback on your Nanna's recent admission to Darlington Memorial Hospital.

I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with her care and your experience on this occasion.

If you do decide to contact us, please make us aware that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website.

The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients.

As you have mentioned you have already made a complaint and because the ward your Nanna was on is not mentioned we are not able to pass this on but you will receive a response to your complaint from the Officer dealing with this for you.

Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices.

Patient Experience Team

County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust

Tel: 0800 7835774

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful