"feel very disappointed and let down by dietician"

About: Adult community services / Nutrition and dietetics

(as the patient),

A few weeks ago I was referred to the dietician at the hospital by the community matron who has been seeing me for some time and was concerned about my weight loss. About 5 weeks ago I had an appointment with the dietician who said she would prescribe fruit drinks that would help to provide nutrients I was missing as I was unable to eat proper meals. She explained that she would send me some samples in the post and would call me a few days later to confirm which flavour I preferred and would then write a prescription for me.

However, when she called it was to let me know that she would not be able to prescribe the drinks for me, the reason given was that ‘she did not hold the purse strings’. This call was quite late in the day, and she ended by saying she would call me the following week. She never did call me back.

I let it slide as I had another appointment three weeks later, when I attended this appointment I was weighed and measured. The dietician noted I had lost weight since my previous appointment and said she would prescribe a drink supplement. I asked her how come she would be able to prescribe the drink this time when on the previous time the supplement had been refused on the grounds of cost. She explained the change was because I had lost weight. Again, she explained she would send me samples in the post and would then call to find out which flavour I would like. She also said she would not need to see me for a further 3 months but no advance appointment was given.

I have not received the samples nor have I heard from the dietician.

I had an appointment with my GP on a separate matter but took the opportunity to explain my visit to the dietician and to ask what information the dietician had provided to the surgery. I was amazed when the doctor read out the dietician’s notes which did not mention the drinks or anything else.

I feel very disappointed and let down by the poor service from the dietician. She seemed a nice person but I’m puzzled by the lack of service, the lack of follow up when this had been promised. I felt really encouraged when I thought I would be getting some help to prevent me from losing more weight and now feel helpless.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Samantha Robinson, Head of Patient Experience, The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Icon129

Hello my name is Sarah Cooper, Head of Clinical Professions and Clinical Support Services and firstly I would like to thank you for your feedback through Patient Opinion. However, I am sorry to learn of your recent experience with the Dietetics service and that you feel very disappointed and let down by the service you received. Please be assured we take concerns around the standards of care provided very seriously and as such I would like to investigate the issues that you have raised in more detail. In order for us to do this please contact our Patient Experience Team on 01709 424461 so we can discuss your concerns in confidence. With regard to the lack of follow up appointment which had been promised our Advanced Dietetic Practitioner advises that you contact the Dietetic Department appointment line on 01709 424297 so that staff can discuss the appointment with you.

Best wishes.

Sarah Cooper

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful