"M2 ward"

About: Royal Bolton Hospital / Maternity care

The whole experience was terrible and the afternoon and night shift staff are a disgrace. I was assessed and was told I was 4cm dilated and would be taken to the delivery suit soon however was kept upstairs for hours in the ward until I was 9cm dilated and in total agony.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Bolton Hospital

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not as positive as we would hope it to be. We use all comments to feedback and make changes to our service and will learn from yours.

Without knowing the full circumstances of your case I am unable to ascertain why you were delayed being transferred to Central Delivery Suite. However, sometimes emergency situations occur and we have to prioritise the immediate safety of women at risk. This may directly impact upon the availability of a bed on delivery suite.

It is difficult to respond fully to your comment without further details but I would be very happy to discuss your experience more fully and you may contact on 01204 309083 if you wish to do so. Heather Rawlinson Acting Matron

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful