"20 week scan"

About: Princess Anne Hospital

I visited the hospital in August for my 20 week scan. I was a little nervous as a first time mum and I was hoping everything would be ok with the development of the baby. I was with my partner and we were called in by the midwife. This midwife wasn't at all friendly and we both felt rather uncomfortable in their presence. They went through things in a robotic way and at one point my partner asked a question and they abruptly told him they didn't have time to go into detail! We are first time parents and naturally need a little reassurance. The same midwife had been in the waiting area beforehand moaning about a lost chair. I understand that everybody has a bad day but surely you should remain professional. I am not normally one to complain but this midwife really ruined our experience! I would like to point out that on the 16 week scan the midwife was absolutely lovely and the service was excellent.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Princess Anne Hospital

We were so sorry to read that the manner of one midwife spoilt your visit to the Princess Anne Hospital for your 20 week scan and can quite understand that as first time parents you are looking for reassurance and guidance.

We were reassured to read that your previous experience during your 16 week scan had been so different and that the midwife then had been excellent.

We would hope that all our mothers receive an excellent service like that and are very sorry that this was not your experience for the second scan.

We all hope that you will receive an excellent service from now on and wish you well in your pregnancy.

Should you need to raise any further concerns, please do not hesitate to contact the patient support services on 023 8120 6325.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful