"Waiting game"

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

6 months ago the Doctor gave me a steroid injection and told me to see how it went. If it helped with the symptoms there is a medication that they can provide me with which mirrors the steroids. I was told i would have an appointment in 8 weeks time, which turned to 3 months. I then went back and saw a lovely rheumatology nurse who the appointment was with not the doctor. When I informed the nurse the steroid didn't work, they then said I had to wait to get another appointment with my doctor because they weren't expecting that! I then waited nearly a month for the next available appointment, go in today and my doctors not even in. I appreciate these things happen but to then be seen by another doctor who was very ignorant and decided that although I've told them steroids haven't worked that another steroid injection and steroid tablets will be best and for me to return in another 3 months. Definitely feel disappointed as they were so good to start with and now I'm questioning to even continue treatment.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Patient Experience Team, Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your experience at Central Manchester University Hospitals via the NHS Choices website. It is important to us that comments are heard and seen as an opportunity provided for the service to make changes and improvements wherever possible.

We are very sorry that you had a negative experience at the Rheumatology Outpatients Department. The Clinical Lead for Rheumatology, Dr Rachel Gorodkin advises that you shouldn't have had to wait 3 months for your nurse appointment and for that we apologise.

We understand why you were concerned about having more steroids given that the initial steroid injection didn't work, but it is difficult to comment further without knowing more details of your illness. We would be very happy for you to contact us directly so that we can look into the specifics of your situation this will also give us the opportunity to learn from your experience and improve our services.

After consideration of this response you may wish to provide more detail which will allow us carry out a complete investigation. If you would like to do this then please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk.