"Very mixed view"

About: Northumbria Specialist Emergency Care Hospital

I have a very mixed opinion about this hospital as one experience was excellent and two other very poor.

I am pregnant and was very concerned early in my pregnancy and spoke to a midwife about what had happened, the midwife left me very distressed over the phone. The next day I contacted my gp and explained what had happened and the doctor immediately referred me for an early scan. The scan itself at the hospital was amazing as the person really reassured me and thankfully everything was fine.

However, last night I noticed I had a red line track travelling up my arm and have previously had cellulitis so I was aware of the symptoms, the gp gave me antibiotics and explained if it travelled any further up my arm through the night I should go straight to Cramlington A&E.

By 5am I noticed the infection had travelled from my wrist to near my armpit so as advised I went straight to Cramlington A&E.

When I arrived the receptionist was lovely and said a nurse would see me within an hour which was the case.

Once seen by the nurse I was told I would be seen in an hour by the doctor.

Two hours later still not seen I asked at reception and was told I would have to wait a further three hours.

If I had know that, I would have went elsewhere as I was extremely worried as I'm pregnant.

The last time I had cellulitis I was very ill and didn't know what effects it would have on pregnancy if it got to that stage again.

Once arriving at wansbeck they were shocked and disappointed that I had been left that long. I understand that the nhs is stretched but if they felt it wasn't serious I should have been told that at least.

I'm meant to be having my baby here and I'm now really concerned because of my experience.

But want to stress that the doctor who performed the scan really was excellent and really did reassure me.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Northumbria Specialist Emergency Care Hospital

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am very sorry to read about your recent recent experience when trying to receive timely treatment with us.

It seems as though there may have been a miscommunication in relation to which hospital would have been most suitable to provide you with the care that you needed, in the most efficient way. I am pleased that you were able to receive care at Wansbeck hospital following your scan at The Northumbria hospital. As The Northumbria hospital is an emergency care hospital, it is possible that your wait was due to severely unwell patients needing to be prioritised. I can imagine how frustrating this must have been for you and I can only apologise. As Wansbeck hospital has a walk-in centre, which is open 24/7, for less serious injuries and ailments, patients are usually able to be seen quicker. For information on which hospital is best to treat you, this link might help: https://www.northumbria.nhs.uk/emergency/where-go-help

I can understand your concerns but I would like to reassure you that our maternity services are some of the best facilities in the country, we have some fantastic testimonials and helpful videos about our service on our website which are definitely worth a look to help you in making your decision on where to give birth: https://www.northumbria.nhs.uk/our-services/womens-health/maternity Regardless of where you decided to have your baby, I wish you and your family all the very best for the future and the exciting times ahead.

Best of luck with the rest of your pregnancy,


Annie Laverty – Director of Patient Experience