"Issues to be sorted"

About: St James's University Hospital

My mum is in st james at the moment. There is a couple of issues. First we think it is wrong to have mainly men health care assistants on a women's ward especially on nights. The embarrassment it is for her as she needs help with all toileting and personal needs. They had one female nurse the rest male. It is wrong!

Secondly please bring in the chef to sort your food out. It is terrible! Boring boring and tasteless. You have to pick from a menu and nothing matches. Salads are awful, big chunks not sliced and soo cold they are practically frozen

Sort this out please, patients need to eat to get better!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Linda S,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

I am very sorry to read of the poor experience you feel your Mum has had in our care. Unfortunately as you have not advised us of the ward your Mum is on I am unable to investigate this at present.

It would be very beneficial for our services and for future patients if you could discuss the matters you have raised further with our Trust’s Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS). This would also allow us look into the matters you have raised more thoroughly and also to see if there are any lessons that we could learn from your experience.

Please call our Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net


Senior Nurse

Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful