"Antenatal care"

About: Stoke Mandeville Hospital

Having recently moved to the area and having my antenatal care transferred to stoke manderville I have to say I am thoroughly disappointed with the care I recieved on my first visit. Everything from the non existent greeting from the reception staff to the hour and half wait to be called after my original appointment time. The consultant I had the misfortune of seeing was nothing short of rude, patronising and dismissive of my previous trusts findings with regards to my babies well being. The toilets in the waiting area were quite frankly some of the filthiest toilets I have seen, completely disgusting. In essence I have decided to return to my previous trust to continue my antenatal care. Whilst this incurs a two hour drive the care I recieved there knocks spots off of the appalling care I recieved at Stoke Manderville.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Anthony Banton, Patient Experience Manager, Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

Dear Anonymous

I am very sorry to read that you were so disappointed with the care you recived at your first Ante-Natal appointment at Stoke Mandeville Hospital that you have decided to continue your care with another Trust.

We are concerned to learn that this was your experience of Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust’s services and we hope that you may be happy to speak with us in some more detail about your experience, so that we can understand what happened more clearly and explore ways in which we can improve our patient experience for the future.

In the meantime, please be assured I will pass your anonymous comments to the relevant manager for the service.

If you are happy to share more detail about your specific experience with us, please contact our dedicated Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01296 316042 or email pals@buckshealthcare.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful