"Steer clear"

About: Princess Alexandra Hospital (Harlow)

My main concern is my mother was admited last week. One visiting her she was in tears saying she was shouted my a nurse. Telling her to do things for herself. Now my mum is very frail. She has fallen over at home we don't let her go on her incase she falls. She also has heart issue which make her weak. I just find some the staff there are heartless don't seem to care. I would not wish this experience on any one when she leaves I will making an official compliant about her treatment.

Truely horrible place and atmosphere for the patients. Staff need training and peoples skill.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Princess Alexandra Hospital

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on NHS Choices.

The description you have provided of your mother's experience is not acceptable and I am so sorry that this is what your mother has experienced. I am concerned that you have described that she was shouted at and so would welcome an opportunity to identify where and when this has happened. We do take such matters extremely seriously and would appreciate your help in investigating this.

If possible, I would be keen to involve you in working with the ward to show the impact of what happened. We like to put our staff in the shoes of patients, families and carers and would find it useful to work with you to do that. To make contact you should call 01279 82 70 84 or email complaints@pah.nhs.uk from Monday to Friday 9.00am to 5.00pm.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful