"I was a patient in Maternity Unit. ..."

About: Queen Elizabeth Hospital (Gateshead)

(as the patient),

What I liked

I was a patient in Maternity Unit. The Unit was clean, and the food was quite good. Some Midwifes were fantastic, and the health Care Assistants. More, the Labour ward personel were fantastic, althought they told me to walk all the way from Ante-natal Ward to labour ward with the contractions every 2 minutes.But never mind. Baby care fantastic! That's what counts most.

What could be improved

Post-nataly the care was very mixed. Some sifts of Midwifes were great, and some horrible, leading me to cry, as they would put pressure on me with breastfeeding and making decissions. Still have bad memories of that experience. Will think about going back to have second baby.

Anything else?

Personal experience though does not mean the care to other patients will be the same. Have some friend who really liked that hospital, and had great experience. So after all I would recommend it to others, as the Baby care is really good.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth Hospital

I’d like to thank you for providing feedback on the Queen Elizabeth Hospital and our services and for recommending the hospital to others.

I am pleased to hear that your overall experience of the maternity unit and the care of your baby was very positive and I will make sure that staff in the unit are aware of the positive comments you have made about them.

I’ve spoken to colleagues in maternity in relation to the issues you have mentioned, as we take all concerns raised by patients very seriously.

Our divisional manager for Women’s and Children’s Services stresses that it is unacceptable for patients to be put under any sort of pressure with regards to breastfeeding. She has addressed the issue with all midwives to ensure that consistent and supportive messages are given to patients on all matters, including breast feeding, and to make sure all midwives are equal in their treatment of patients, which is in line with our policies. I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I hope you’ve found this response useful and if you would like to discuss this further please don’t hesitate to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0800 953 0667. Again I would like to thank you for the very positive scores and for recommending our hospital, despite the concerns you have raised.

Ian Renwick.

Chief Executive of Gateshead Health NHS Foundation Trust.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful