"Aspen ward left me feeling worthless"

About: Darent Valley Hospital

This is the 2nd baby I have had a Darent and both times their after care in Aspen ward has let them down. The midwifes on Tambootie and in ante natal clinic right over to delivery suite are fab but the midwives in Aspen on this occasion particularly were horrible. After a traumatic delivery I was placed in the ward and on every occasion I asked for simple paracetamols I had to chase up and waited an hour each time.

On one occasion of asking the midwife went out to and told another midwife who I won't mention that I mentioned I had been waiting almost an hour to which I heard them really loudly in my direction 'well we are short staffed what does she want'! I was horrified and again after waiting 30 mins further I alerted the midwife I had heard this and they told me I should have walked out to the desk then instead of waiting. Please note I was in no condition to walk and had they not have told me to press my bell if I needed something I probably would've waddled over. Rude just isn't the word to describe them so please don't expect any aftercare. Just nagging every 10 minutes to get up and walk around, they don't care at all!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Darent Valley Hospital

Dear Mona D

Firstly may I apologise for the delay in replying to your comments. This was unfortunately due to the Easter break.

I am sad and disappointed at the way you were treated during your stay on Aspen Ward, but do appreciate your comments as they will be used to improve the service we provide. As Ward Manager, I strive to promote excellence in my staff, and will continue to do so. Unfortunately I am unable to identify the midwives involved as there were more than two members of staff on duty on each shift.

If you could give me more information with regard to the midwives involved I will be able to address these issues with them personally.

I can only sincerely apologise again for the distress you were caused and would like to reassure you that these points are taken very seriously and are followed up with the aim to always look to improve the service we provide.

Kind regards

Sandra Hurley

Senior Sister, Aspen Ward

01322 428100 Ext 8831

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful