"Total lack of assistance"

About: Birmingham Midland Eye Centre

I have been trying since 9am this morning to cancel an appointment for my father which was due today.

This is because he is an inpatient at another hospital.

I have spent 2:15 trying to get to speak to the secretaries or someone who will help.

No department will take responsibility of canceling the appointment and someone in todays clinic has just told me off for ringing them not the secretaries (who had told me to speak to the clinic not them).

Total lack of help and co-operation between departments and rudeness from the clinic when I did.

Not impressed as I am at work and dont have the time to waste on what should have been 1 quick phone call.

I dont even know now if it has been cancelled properly and if he will be offered another appointment or if he has been put on their records as not bothering to attend.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Birmingham Midland Eye Centre

I am very sorry you had a negative experience with us and you felt like you wasted a lot of time. We would like to address the problems you have had with scheduling of appointments - if you could please contact Lauren in the Management Centre at the Birmingham and Midland Eye Centre by phoning 0121 507 6845 or by email at laurendavies1@nhs.net, then she will be able to help you. Toby Lewis, Chief Executive.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful