"Terrible - don't send anyone here!!"

Don't believe the website that has all the fancy photos and so called statistics. This place is like a prison. Wards on the upper floors do not have access to a garden but only a grotty cage that leaves a lot to be desired. The staff are often rude and do not have time for you, especially if you're struggling. Patients are left with nothing to do all day, on a good day there will be some groups on but more often than not groups are cancelled and not replaced. Patients are left to waste away in front of the TVs all day. Whatever you do, do not send anyone you care about here!!

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Cygnet Hospital Beckton

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review though we are sorry to read that you have not had a positive experience at the hospital. We acknowledge that there is limited access to the garden from the 1st floor. However, to offset this and where it is safe to do so, service users are granted escorted or unescorted leave in order to access local recreational facilities.

There are a variety of structured and unstructured activities available on the ward which service users have been actively involved in developing and evaluating. We will continue to work with service users to ensure that the activities provided are meaningful to their needs.

We take any concerns raised by the people we support very seriously, and would encourage you to contact us so that we can discuss your concerns in more detail. The Hospital Manager can be reached on 020 7511 2299 or via judithetheridge@cygnethealth.co.uk.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful