"2am in a quiet A&E"

About: Northumbria Specialist Emergency Care Hospital

I arrived in this hospital with sever pain in my chest & stomach taxi dropped me of got to see the nurse within 15 min did an heart trace all good said I had to wait to see a doc, no time asked for pain as it was really bad , refused . Waited 20 pain to the point unbearable, told receptionist who said go through doors tell the nurse, which I did, was bent double at this point being sick nurse give me a sick bowl told me to wait in another waiting area, where I was on my knees in my own sick people walking past me, this went on for 20 min, taken to a doc from this point things got very slowly better was on a ward by 6ish had a X-ray had a scan still not told what was wrong on pain relief except paracetamol, moved to a surgical ward still not told why, anyway all ended well once on a ward nurses were great helpful it's the bit in A&E i am very disappointed at

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Northumbria Specialist Emergency Care Hospital

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention – it is very upsetting to read your review and know that we failed to provide you with the timely care you needed. We would always want our staff to do everything they can to manage the pain that patients are experiencing - I am so sorry that this was not the case for you. I also deeply regret that you weren’t provided with appropriate levels of dignity and respect whilst you were ill – I can only imagine how distressing this must have been.

You may have been aware at the time of the large demands that are currently being made on the service. We are doing all we can to understand how we urgently respond to the high volumes of people that are presenting in emergency care – please be assured this is an absolute priority for us. Whilst I am pleased to hear your treatment on our surgical ward was an improvement, we need to learn from those occasions where we have failed to provide high quality care – all feedback helps us to improve. If you would like us to look into what happened to you in more depth – please could you contact me at annie.laverty@nhct.nhs.uk.

Take good care of yourself and thanks again for getting in touch.

With best wishes,


Annie Laverty – director of patient experience