"maternity service"

About: North Middlesex Hospital

I was admitted for an induction at 9.30 am in the morning in the maternity triage unit due to my waters breaking13on am the same day once I arrived staff were polite environment clean I was happy with the care however I was left waiting in the main entrance area for 8 hours for a bed in labour ward because there were no beds at all during this time my waters leaked out throughout the morning n afternoon however I had no contractions so was not priority even though I was high risk n baby was premature , eventually I went up at7.30 pmfor my induction a bed was finally free in labour ward however during the long wait of 8 hours my baby had turned into breech position, I had no choice but to have an emergency cesarian or waiting any longer would put baby at risk of infection , surgeons tried to turn baby however my waters were not enough to turn baby after 3 natural birth this was very disappointing if I had been seen to earlier the c section could have been prevented after care was ok however no observations were done until morning the ward is very quiet imidwifes are far from bedsides as the front desk is a distance from the bedside area and difficult to walk to however pressing the call bell the midwifes and Hcss attended quickly postnatal wards is very peaceful n clean the care was ok the only fault I have was the waiting time to be induced and being left in the main. Entrance for9 hours whilst leaking amniotic fluid not acceptable I should AV been given a bed on the postnatal ward n due to the long wait baby was able to turn had I been induced the night before instead of being sent home my baby would AV been born naturally as I wished if I was seen to on time my waters would not AV been so low that the baby could not be turned c section would cab been prevented I understand the trust is under pressure but more should be done to avoid these situations 9 hours is a long time to sit and wait for a bed whilst leaking water one of the staff gave me n my partner food the manager if the labour ensured I had eaten which was very kind it's to improve waiting times the option of goin home or being transferred to a less busier hospital should av been given regular checks should have been done to ensure the safety of mother and baby whilst waiting over8 hours for a bed the a rupture of membrane waters breaking 24 hrs to48 hrs is aloud before inducing a mum however if the babies premature more should be done to prevent the mother from waiting n becoming stressed out baby being at higher risk antibiotics were given but if this was affective it would not be needed after birth so there must b some risks recovery care was great surgeons were great postnatal wards ok delivery suite lovly triage waiting time was way to long labour wards waiting times for bed far to long induction waiting time far to long

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from North Middlesex Hospital

Thank you for your feedback. So sorry that you had to wait so long for a bed.

You mention that you had to wait 8 hours before being admitted to the labour ward, but you do not mention whether your contractions were happening or whether the birth was progressing and you were experiencing pain.

I am the head of midwifery g.slevin@nhs.net and would welcome further feedback from you so that I can investigate further.

The matron on labour ward knows exactly how many mums are in labour, but unfortunately not how many will arrive over any 24 hour period.

If your contractions were not progressing and birth was not imminent, then the requirement for a bed was not an emergency and staff would wait for the birth to progress before admitting you.

Please do email me with further feedback.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful