"Poor Communication and Premature Discharge"

About: Lister Hospital

A message that I send over the phone one late evening was not passed on to my mother, despite the nurse saying that they would. My mother was also discharged from the ward, despite edema in her legs that is getting worse and we are told is a result of heart problems. I think the doctor was wrong to discharge her. May I also commend the nursing staff in general for their dedication and excellent care. Kind Regards Alex

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lister Hospital

Thank you for getting in touch and we're sorry that your message to your mother was not passed on as you asked - although it was good to see that you felt the quality of nursing standards on your mother's ward were very high. We are concerned about your comments relating to your mother's discharge however, which we would like to get followed up if you haven't done that yourself already through other routes. If not, then we would be more than happy to help with this - just email us at generalenquiries.enh-tr@nhs.net and we will get the ball rolling for you.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful