"Poor arrangements of clinics"

About: Arrowe Park Hospital

Visited the gynae clinic today with my daughter and was appalled at the insensitivity of the clinic waiting area . Patients attending with fertility problems and gynae problems have to wait in the same area as patients attending ante natal clinics and also the area is used for new mothers and babies to exit the building ! My daughter is unable to have children due to previous cancer treatment and to have to sit in an area such as this can be very distressing . On discussing this with the reception staff they agreed and said that many other patients had also made this observation and management were aware of this but nothing gets done ! Why ??? I have no complaints about the staff or the the consultant who were very professional and supportive

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Arrowe Park Hospital

We are very sorry to hear about the experience you had with your daughter in the Gynaecology clinic waiting area.

We have shared your comments with the senior management team for our Women's Services. They have advised that we are currently investigating how we can re-design the waiting area within the financial constraints of the NHS so that we can avoid the distressing experience you have described.

If you or your daughter would like to discuss this further, please ring the Patient Relations team on 0151 604 7660, email wih-tr.Patientrelations@nhs.net or in writing to Patient Relations team, Arrowe Park Hospital, Arrowe Park Road, Upton, Wirral, CH49 5PE. The Patient Relations team can discuss the best way that we can try to address your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful