"Very disappointed!"

About: Trafford General Hospital

I was told a painful lump on my wrist was my bone and that I couldn't be referred for an x-ray, I would have to get referred by my GP. I told the nurse I thought it was a cyst and not my bone but i was completely ignored. I was in a lot of pain and very worried after this advice I ended up going to Salford A&E a few days later to be told that the lump was infact a cyst. Completely given the wrong advice at Trafford, I will definitely not be going here again.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us regarding your experience at Trafford Walk-in-Centre. Patient feedback is extremely important to help us improve the services we deliver to patients. We were sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience when using our service. The Walk-in-Centre at Trafford is commissioned for urgent, immediate and necessary treatment and for patients that cannot get an appointment with their own GP practice for urgent treatment that day and is managed by Mastercall on behalf of Central Manchester Foundation Trust. The Walk-in-Centre is not commissioned to complete routine x-rays or tests. Your GP surgery is the most appropriate service to refer you for any routine investigations as this provides you with better continuity of care; especially when a referral to a specialist may be required. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the care you received that day. However, we hope this does not deter you from using our services again in the future, if you require urgent care. If you would like to discuss your experience in more detail please contact the Mastercall Quality & Safety Team via 0161 476 7001.