"Useless maternity , look some where else"

About: Newham General Hospital

The maternity and child services in this hospital are by far one of the worse I've experienced in my time.

Waiting times - You are given appointments and warned if your just a few minutes late you will need to come back later or reschedule. However expect to come to a 9am appointment and be seen at 1am. No I'm not joking the average waiting time for a scheduled appointment was at least 2 hour later than the time you will be given. This is just unacceptable and a failure of the people in charge to make sure people are doing there jobs.

Reception - The waiting rooms are over crowded with none adequate seating for pregnant woman who are forced to wait for hours. The rooms have a real lack of ventilation and clean air and you will often feel your self wanting to go outside because of the stuffy feeling that will warp over you. The rooms are also over heated with the main reception being hot anoth to grow exotic fruits. It's terrible to have pregnant woman in such conditions to the point as a partner I would make my Mrs wait outside and get her when they called to help.

Staff - It is amazing how some people are allowed to work. Many times we went there was no trained staff on reception or they were incapable. Rude staff is a huge issue in this place also with one midwife nearly forcing my partner to tears because she was having a planned c section instead of natural. (Not by choice but recommended by doctors due her health issues). Expect to see staff walking around with there handbags and phones out or with there hands in there pockets just chatting to each other. Maybe if the staff worked there wouldn't be people waiting over 2 hours.

Beds - ok this sis by far the quick in the teeth for me. My partner was told she would be required to come in for 8am and stay over night for steroid treatment to insure the child was health anoth for the c section. We get there to find the desk is closed with a sign saying go to the first floor. We do this and told it's not closed just go in and find some one down stairs (great I'm a yoyo). After finding some one we are told that we will have to wait as there is no beds. What no beds? How is this possible when there should be one waiting for her already when you have an appointment. So you are told to just sit and wait but warned if some one comes in and you have say gone to the toilet or gone to get a drink they will be given the bed before you even though you are already 3 hours and waiting. So what a pregnant woman is suppose to just wait for goodness knows how many hours and not even allowed to pee or drink? What a joke.

To every one if you are having a child avoid this place at all cost

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Newham General Hospital

Dear David

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on yours and your partner’s experience of our Maternity Services. We are sorry to read that you were unhappy with the care and treatment your partner received whilst with us. If you would like to discuss this in more details please contact our Patient, Advice and Liaison Service on 020 3594 2040 or by email pals@bartshealth.nhs.uk to discuss this.

We really value your feedback and take into account all of the concerns you have raised here. We will use your comments to make improvements to our services where possible and have shared this with the maternity team.

Kind regards

Barts Health NHS Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful