"Apauling waiting times"

About: Russells Hall Hospital

Still here after 4 hours and being told a three to two hour wait with chest pains.observations of patients being seen very slowly,some of the auxiliary staff are quite rude in their interactions with patients. Waiting room is dirty,oppressive,folks are charging their phones and leaving litter on the floor.I wonder where I am? And I really don't want to be here any longer but understand some have already been here 10 hours and I do need to be seen.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Russells Hall Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your experience of our Emergency Department. We always aim to see, treat, admit or discharge emergency patients promptly and within the government-set target of four hours and so we must apologise if you had to wait longer this to be seen. It is possible that some patients who have already been seen may wait a little longer to be admitted a ward or an assessment unit.

We are disappointed by your comments about the cleanliness of the waiting area.

We take infection control very seriously and carry out a number of audits to ensure cleanliness is maintained.

As well as being cleaned by domestic staff at regular intervals, additional cleaning can be arranged if a patient or visitor reports a specific issue.

We are concerned by your experience of our support staff. There is never an excuse for rude behaviour and so must apologise if this was your experience.

We have shared your comments with the lead nurse for the Emergency Department who will address the issues raised with her team.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful