"Mammogram machine out of order"

About: Solihull Hospital

(as the patient),

Two weeks ago I returned to Solihul hospital for my yearly nurse appointment and mammogram, only to find after one and a half hours travelling that the machine had broken down so had to leave and wait for another appointment.

Today I returned and found again the machine had broken, feeling in a bit of an emotional state at the news again, a very nice receptionist got a lady to come speak to me, and to cut a long story short, this lovely lady cheered me, as I was almost in tears and stayed with me till a taxi was ordered to take me to Good Hope Hospital, for my mammogram. Then returned home after.

This wonderful ladies name is Sue, she deserves a medal and more for her great service to your hospital.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Marie Helebert, Patient Services Officer, Patient Services, Heart of England Foundation Trust

Dear bobobobobob

Thank you for your feedback regarding your yearly appointment at Solihull Hospital for review with the breast nurse and for a mammogram.

I am sorry that you encountered delays to your patient journey due to a breakdown with the mammography machine.

I can appreciate that encountering the same problem on two separate visits was very upsetting for you and I am pleased that actions were taken swiftly on your second visit to remedy this and ensure that you had the appropriate investigation. I am just sorry that this meant being taken by taxi to Good Hope Hospital, and I hope that the actions taken by the Breast Service minimised your distress.

I will highlight the issues with the mammography machine to the Radiology General Manager to ascertain what actions are being taken to remedy any issues with the machinery, and they will also ensure that your kind comments about Sue, the lady who assisted you, are communicated to her and to all of the radiology team.

I hope this is acceptable and once again thank you for providing your comments, patient feedback is extremely important to us as it allows us to know when services are working well for our patients, but equally allows us to identify issues that we can look into and remedy to prevent repetition, thereby improving our patient's experience.

So that I can obtain some more information from you to enable me to identify you on our system, can I ask you to call me at your convenience on 0121 424 0808 or directly by email: marie.helebert@heartofengland.nhs.uk

I look forward to hearing from you and once again, I am very sorry for any distress or upset caused to you.

With kind regards

Marie Helebert

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful