"Labour ward was fantastic but post natal not so..."

About: Countess Of Chester Hospital

I cannot fault my time on the labour ward. My midwife was absolutely fantastic talking me through my breathing I opted for only gas and air pain relief making my labour only 15 minutes before my son was born.

The post natal ward really let the whole experience down. I had Group Strep B and observations were to be taken every 2 hours for 12 hours and some were missed - my husband had to ask more than once for someone to check our son.

I waited 2 hours for paracetamol and wasn't introduced to any of the staff whereas another of other ladies were. I felt like a hindrance when I needed to ask for anything. A rude member of night staff approached me and said quite abruptly - breast or bottle - you need to feed your baby - when I was actually about to change his nappy. Maybe his cry was irritating their during the night shift.

I was supposed to go home the same day I gave birth but in the whole 12 hours my son did not have his hearing, sight, hips or drop test. No one checked my BP or stitches. So disappointed in the aftercare offered here.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Countess Of Chester Hospital

Dear Madam

Thank you for your comments.

We were pleased to learn of your kind words about the care you received when you were in labour, and wish to offer you our congraulations on the birth of your son.

However, we were sorry to learn of your concerns with regards your post-natal care.

We would like to use your comments to see what happened on this occasion.

Please feel free to contact the PALs Department after 10am on Freephone 0800 195 1241 and select option 2 or email cochpals@nhs.net to give us more information about your experience. This will also give us the opportunity to feedback to you personally.

The Patient Experience Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful