"Great support and resources"

About: The Royal Victoria Infirmary

I attended Pain Management here for 2 years. The support and facilities here was amazing. My only disappointment was that due to my postcode I couldn't take part in the pain management programme. If you are offered the opportunity to take part jump at it. The access to physios, psychologists and consultants. My GP re-referred me to a Pain Management clinic elsewhere and I am completely underwhelmed. I had an appointment to begin a pain management programme and it was cancelled due to insufficient numbers. The programme there was no where near as comprehensive as the Glasgow one and the support from the clinic poor to say the least. I have not seen a consultant, had any discussion with regard to treatment or physio. I have been moved and siderailled. The NHS is so disappointing. I'd rather travel to a decent clinic than be left to my own devices. Needless to say in the last 12-18months my health has suffered and my conditions worsened. All with less support. The staff in the clinic were friendly and approachable at the New Victoria and I always felt were going the extra mile to find additional resources.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Royal Victoria Infirmary

Thank you for your feedback regarding your treatment by the Pain Management Unit at the Royal Victoria Infirmary. The Pain Team work extremely hard to try and offer patients the highest level of service, tailoring pain management programmes to meet individual needs.

We are also extremely pleased to note that you have said the team were friendly and approachable, your positive feedback will be passed onto the staff involved who will appreciate the recognition of their efforts from yourself, and how disappointed you were not to be able to access the Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Pain Course.

We do encourage you to go back and discuss with you GP your options to be referred to Newcastle if that is your choice, or contact your local Patient Advice and Liaison service to see if they can help facilitate you in exercising your choice to come to Newcastle.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful