"Does anyone answer the phone?"

About: Royal Preston Hospital

From the fact that you can't get through on the phone ... Ever! To the poor signposting on the corridors, the expensive parking and lack of spaces particularly in the disabled car park and the no healthy food. Unless chocolate and crisps are one of your 5 a day - and that's just for starters! Preston is a depressing hospital to go to. Staff who don't have the courtesy to tell you their names but there's so few of them anyway. Uniforms that seem to be mix and match and are meaningless as a means of identifying staff very few of whom wear their badges. notes that go missing and don't get me started on infection control . then there's the lack of dignity shown to the elderly. "I feel like an animal in a zoo"

CQC anyone ? even the staff will tell you that's a farce. But ... There's no choice when you're poorly so come on bosses at this hospital roll your sleeves up and get stuck in , support your staff - answer the phones, find notes, talk to patients, stick signposts up - make your hospital a nice place to be - I'm sure you can do something because whatever it is you're trying at the moment ain't working, it's your staff who are doing that - working very hard (15 hr shifts!) to get the basics done only. Oh and by the way can you leave the lights on after hours on the ground floor it would be really helpful to see on your way out at midnight after waiting since 9:30am!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Rhona Hartley, Head of Patient Experience and Customer Care, Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We were sorry to read your comments and have shared them with the relevant managers.

We were particularly saddened to read your comments about the lack of dignity you feel is shown to elderly patients, together with the failure of all staff to introduce themselves by name. Providing patients with compassionate care and treating everyone with dignity is central to the Trust's values and we truly are sorry if that was not reflected in the care and communication you received.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful