"Gynaecology service shambolic, understaffed and..."

About: University Hospital Lewisham

Have been treated for pelvic prolapse over last 4 years and, with the exception of the excellent women's health physio, the service has been pretty poor. No continuity of care, long waiting times, inability of staff to explain diagnosis and treatment options in a clear, understandable way and worst of all, insensitivity towards patients when dealing with a particularly private, sensitive area of the body! Staff training, longer appointments and more resources badly needed in this department.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospital Lewisham

I am very sorry to hear that your experience of our gynaecology service has not been a positive one. I will be looking into the issues you have raised. If you would like to contact me directly on rosie.jackson@nhs.net

I would like to give you a personal apology and find out exactly what has gone wrong. However please be assured I will be investigating the concerns you have raised to make sure we make improvements where necessary and we get back on track to providing a high quality service that meets our patient's needs. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback and for your positive mention of our women's health physio. Again I'm sorry we failed to meet your needs.

Kind Regards

Rosie Jackson, Head of Nursing Women's Sexual Health

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful