"twisters of pain"

About: City Hospital (Birmingham)

When I got here the first thing that was noted via the case notes was that my condition had been poorly managed. I feel if I had been referred sooner things would have been better for me. I had a severe case of eczema I remember the waiting area people played music on their phones the staff couldn't seem to care less despite the risk of people using mobiles interfering with medical equipment and not being pleasant when waiting for a doctor. I had dealing with three consultants they prescribed some medicines which worked better then those given by my GP but my condition remained a living burden for another year and a half. The consultants were good at talking at people not with me. One was very negative about my chances of recovery and they did not inspire confidence. When I was booked into an appointment to look at getting some light treatment to battle my condition the member of staff responsible for this was very bullying and aggressive in their manner gave me a hard time for not filling in some optiontional when it was non of their business. Stressed me out before an appointment counterproductive to proceedings. The last time I saw a consultant I was treated like a child. The consultant lost their patience with me when I was questioning the effectiveness of my treatment and ordered me out of the room like a naughty child. I also found the admin team very lazy and nasty canceled appointments when they felt like that and told me in the "NHS we don't do apologise . The chief executive is a disgrace I told them I had not received my last consultation notes, they said things would be looked into and this was not acceptable. However I never heard back. No accountability originally when I wanted to make a complaint on the day no one helped staff in general seem to be their for their own benefit and self importance. Any recovery I have made I'm confident to say has not been as a result of a referral to city hospital dermatology department but through my own personal endeavours which makes me question why the NHS is publicly funded to the extent it is without treating patients with any consideration .

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from City Hospital

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. This is not the standard of care that we aim for. I would like to make sure this doesn't happen again so please could you email with full details to our Patient Liaison Advice Service at swb-tr.pals@nhs.net so that we can investigate this further. Thank you and I wish you well. Rachel Barlow, Chief Operating Officer.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful