"Insensitive care after 14 week scan"

About: Hospital Of St Cross / Gynaecology

(as a parent/guardian),

My daughter opted for the Down's Syndrome Test as she was deemed to be 13 weeks and 5 days. Her brilliant midwife and student arranged this to take place at Rugby St Cross the following day.

Ecstatic to be meeting her baby for the first time we got to the appointment only to be told the baby was measuring 8 1/2 weeks and there was no heartbeat. The sonar arranged for us to go straight to ward 23 where they would be expecting us, if we got delayed phone them to let them know.

Once we got there I explained the situation only to be told I had to book in downstairs! I left my grief-stricken daughter raced downstairs to book her in to return back to her. Whilst waiting to be called in, we had a woman showing her baby to all the staff in front of us, the laughter coming out of the clinical area with no regard to what my daughter or I felt for that matter.

Eventually a support worker stopped and asked if everything was ok when I replied no my daughters baby has no heart beat found and we got called in and put into a side room. Where we waited for another 20 mins.

According to the miscarriage information given out 1: 4 women miscarry, and this department sees approximately 100 per month! Where was my daughters dignity in this for the first hour or so? I appreciate it's an area of use for different reasons but surely consideration should have been given to her?

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust We are preparing to make a change

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at University Hospital, Coventry.

Please let us start by saying we are genuinely sorry for your loss. It must have been an extremely upsetting time for you both and so we would like to apologise for the experience you had. Communication is something that we value highly in our organisation, and from your comments you didn’t receive this at a highly traumatic and devastating time when it was even more critical that you did. Please be assured that we have passed your comments onto the staff concerned and they have asked for us to pass on their apologies as well.

If you would like to discuss aspects of your care further then please contact the Trust’s Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0800 028 4203. If you would prefer to contact us by e-mail, our address is feedback@uhcw.nhs.uk

Alternatively, you can write to us at the following address: -


University Hospital

Clifford Bridge Road



If you do decide to contact us, please make us aware that you have left comments on the Patient Opinion website.

The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients.

Communications Team

University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust

Telephone 0800 028 4203