"My daughters labour"

About: St James's University Hospital / Maternity care

(as a parent/guardian),

My daughter went into labour one afternoon recently. She was booked in at the clarendon wing in leeds, it was closed that afternoon as they were full, so she had to go to st james hospital, she was shown no respect, I know why that is, its because she was a patient of the clarendon wing, so st james dont get paid from the government as she was a patient at clarendon wing. The bed she was on was dirty, they put her on a bed that another patient had just got off.... And thats disgusting, the staff we came into contact with are not friendly, ignorant.

really, everything just seemed like it was a big effort, as she was not far enough into her labour, and the clarendon wing had re-opened we took her there, top class service and brilliant staff that care there.

St james hospital is disgusting!

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Johnlufc2.

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your daughter’s recent experience at St James Hospital, I was very sorry to read of the poor experience you feel she had whilst in our care.

I can however confirm that the funding we receive for our patients is not dependent on the site in which they are treated as for financial purposes we are one NHS Trust.

I have passed your post onto the matron for maternity services at St James’ hospital so that the matters you have raised can be addressed.

If you would like to discuss these matters any further please do not hesitate to contact the trusts Patient, Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net

With kind regards


Senior nurse

Patient Experience

  • Johnlufc2 doesn't think this response is helpful
    {{helpful}} other {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} think it is helpful

Update posted by Johnlufc2 (a parent/guardian)

About the response .... Erm, always the same isn't it, when you complain its the usual answer..... It will be passed on to the relevent department..... A cop out I would say?

Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Johnlufc,

Thank you for your response, Unfortunately we only act as a mediator and a point of contact for complaints they are then passed on to the relevant department so that they can investigate the matters raised.

Please accept my apologies if you find this insufficient, I would ask that you contact the PALS team so that we can discuss these matters further with you and arrange for someone from the maternity services to contact you.

With kind regards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Johnlufc2 (a parent/guardian)

Yes, im sorry rosie love, its not your fault,