"Hernandez operation"

About: North Tyneside General Hospital

Attended this hospital because I could be seen a lot faster than south Tyneside hospital. Got a fast appointment and date for op. Waited from 11 am to 4pm just to be told op cancelled. What a massive let down,so disappointed after waiting all day, surely I could have been informed much earlier and avoided much of the stress.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from North Tyneside General Hospital

Dear Mr Wilkinson I’m very pleased that you chose to have your treatment with us at North Tyneside General Hospital and you were able to get your appointment quickly. I am sorry, however, to hear that you had your surgery cancelled on the day and apologise for any stress this may have caused you. We don’t take the decision to cancel operations lightly and there would have been a reason for this. Usually the team would explain this to patients and it is unclear from your comment if this has been the case. Without knowing the details it is difficult for me to look into this further for you and ensure you receive a new date for your surgery quickly. So I can help you, can I please ask that you contact me on 07876 501451 / marion.dickson@northumbria.nhs.uk Kind regards Marion Dickson, deputy director of elective surgery and emergency care

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful