"Medical exemplary - Management disgraceful"

About: William Harvey Hospital

Please pass on to the staff who performed angioplasty for me on the afternoon of 10th July 2015 :- It was evident that I was being treated with consummate skill and care. I am also grateful for the kind words of reassurance given. Please render my thanks to the team. The ITU, Cambridge ward staff and catering are also to be commended. It's a pity that I cannot be as complimentary about the hospital's management. I had to witness several people left in distress overnight at the weekend, 18 hours for me to get a nicotine inhaler, I didn't sleep for three nights in a row and was highly stressed. Further there was continued confusion over when and by what means I would return home, made much worse by the by an administrator overriding a settled agreement who then failed to provide the transport that she stated she would. Tragically, the hospital's performance and the good work of many is being spoiled by a few.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from William Harvey Hospital

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your stay at the William Harvey Hospital. While it is heartening to learn about the clinical and nursing care you received, I am sorry to learn about you not receiving more help with the nicotine inhaler and particularly about the transport arrangements. Please would you contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) to give them your details so that we can take the opportunity to look into this to see what went wrong. They can be telephoned on 01227 864314 or 01227 783145 or emailed at ekh-tr.PALS@nhs.net

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful