"Dreadful service"

About: Darlington Memorial Hospital

Referred by GP in December. Appointment with a Consultant in February. Colonoscopy 31st May. Told to expect a letter for follow up appointment in 2-3 weeks. Rang the Consultant's secretary on 29 June and they said the Consultant no longer worked at DMH. I explained I was waiting to see a consultant. The secretary was extremely rude and said, "It takes time to get results back, you know" to which I replied 2-3 weeks was what I was told after colonoscopy. They said, "You want the results to be right, don't you!" and "They were wrong". On further investigation, they found my results were back and on the system. However, they'd never had a 'hard copy' so they'd print them off and pass to consultant. I've just rung up and spoken to a member of the Endoscopy unit (after several attempts of speaking to various departments and being passed around with no answer from extensions) who was very helpful and told me I have an appointment in September. Disgusting service from the secretary. Lovely service from person in Endoscopy who did try to help. Waiting times are outrageous and I continue to suffer pain and fatigue after initial referral from GP 7 months ago.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Darlington Memorial Hospital

Thank you for providing feedback on your experience from one of the Medical Secretaries at Darlington Memorial Hospital. I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience on this occasion and we have passed this to the manager of the secretaries at Darlington Memorial Hospital and she has confirmed she will look into the issues you have raised. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you and if you feel this would be useful please contact the Trust’s Patient Experience Team on 0800 7835774. If you would prefer to contact us by e-mail, our address is patient.experience@cddft.nhs.uk If you do decide to contact us, please make us aware that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website. The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients. Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices. Patient Experience Team County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust Tel: 0800 7835774

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful