About: Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother Hospital

Completely unprofessional and uncaring and was very ignorant. MRI scan reveals I had ruptured ankle ligaments, surgeon told me 'You don't know that you are not a surgeon' after I was advised by both my GP and Orthopaedic Consultant that I had ruptured ligaments. Incredibly dismissive to my concerns and questions and could not have made it more clear that they were not bothered or concerned with me as a patient. Very sarcastic, didn't seem to know what they were doing. I would not let this surgeon cut cheese for me, let alone cut open my ankle. Unbelievable

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother Hospital

I am very sorry to learn that you had this experience and we would like to investigate it further and respond to you in full. Please will you contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01227 8643145 or 01227 783145 (there may be answer phones, but please leave a message) or email us at ekh-tr.PALS@nhs.net

Response from Sally Smith, Chief Nurse and Director Of Quality, East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Adam,

I am so sorry to hear of your very distressing experience. This is not the standard of care we expect from our staff, please accept my apologies. If you would like to talk to me about this please feel free to contact me on sally.smith2@nhs.net

Apologies again,


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful