"Massively long wait and dismissive staff"

About: North Tyneside General Hospital

The wait was so long I gave up and went home. I got glass in my eye but the service was so poor I felt safer treating myself. After waiting several hours I enquired if I had been missed off the list. I was asked to repeat my name 5 times and then was told that my case was a minor issue and the wait at be a lot longer. Being at risk of blindness is not a minor issue.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from North Tyneside General Hospital

Dear Dan, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. It is important that we share it with the team. I am very sorry that our care fell far short of what you were expecting and that our staff appeared to dismiss your concerns. I can appreciate how worried you must have been about the risks to your sight - I can only apologise for the fact that we didn't provide you with the reassurance that you were after. I do hope everything is ok now. with best wishes and thanks again, Annie

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful