About: St Mary's Hospital (London)

After having fantastic treatment in the trauma ward, my mother has been transferred twice due to a cock up in communication. She is now on Albert ward and I am not happy with the level of staff. Most are trainees who like nothing better than sitting at the nurses station chatting and laughing. The staff nurse who attended my mother after she became ill was attentive, but after my mother recovered from her choking episode care was non existent, not once in over an hour did anyone check to see how she was doing the staff (mainly trainees) were all too busy laughing joking and flirting to bother. I asked to see a Dr and was told they could be 20 mins to an hour, the doctor did eventually come and speak to me and did put my mind at rest, but the nursing needs attention, only time will tell if they improve- I really hope so as my mother is elderly and needs good nurses to get her through this. I really hope someone will read this and respond.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Mary's Hospital

Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust is concerned to read your comments about your mother's care on Albert Ward at St Mary's and we apologise for the experience you have reported. Your comments have already been passed to the senior nurse responsible for the ward. We need to be able to investigate and respond to the significant concerns you have raised and hope that you will contact our PALS Team as soon as possible to facilitate this. Please email pals@imperial.nhs.uk or telephone 020 3312 7777 so we can assist and resolve your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful