"Booking in at the A&E ..."

About: Central Middlesex Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

Booking in at the A&E was very quick the young lady was precise and made me feel welcome. I was sent round to the majors ward. she did a very good job.

Anything else?

When I got to the majors ward I was seen very quickly by the nurse (friendly) who took my blood pressure, blood and urine and took it away for testing. I waited to see the doctor and after a while he examined me first listening to my heart which he said was fine. I told him that was having lower abdominal pain for 3 weeks and I could not take anymore. He examined my stomach and it was painful on the left and right as well as in the middle. As he examined me I continued to have pain in spasms which he commented on. He then told me that I would have to go back to my doctor to get an ultrasound I asked why it couldnt be done here but he said it couldnt. I said what about an xray he said it would damage my cells. I was upset and could not believe that I would have to go back to my doctor to have an ultrasound. I had also asked for painkillers which I was given just before I left.

Comments were made by the doctor about some machine thats tests for kidney and liver was broken I am not certain if this comment was to do with me but i believed it was.

I was given a letter to take to my doctor requesting an urgent ultrasound on my abdomen. I took the letter straight to my doctor.

As a patient I quess I wanted results straightaway but I dont understand why I could not have the ultrasound at Central Middlesex.

Having been seen in your ACAD unit in April 2009 I was concerned that my pain could have been linked to that and was anxious.

My doctor is arranging for me to have an ultrasound.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Central Middlesex Hospital

Thank you for your comments.

Firstly I apologise for the delay in acknowledging your message and I am sorry to learn that you were not completely satisfied with the treatment you received when you attended A&E. I apologise that you were not given a clear explanation of why it was necessary to refer you back to your GP for your ultrasound, which I hope has now been completed.

If you have continuing concerns please do not hesitate to contact the Patient Relations Team on 0208 869 2026.

Kind regards

Ann Curry

Patient Liaison Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful