"removal of cancer on right lung"

About: Blackpool Victoria Hospital

More than happy with care I received, I was discharged with very little info as to what to do or not what to at home, I was given a breathing appliance to use but no instructions as how to use it. The waste of food could be better managed.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Eleanor Walsh, Lead in Patient Experience & Engagement , Patient Experience, Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

picture of Eleanor Walsh

Thank you so much for sharing your story. We are always working hard to improve the services we offer to our patients and this starts with listening to what your experience of care has been like to understand what we do well and what we could do differently.

I am sorry and disappointed that you were not given any information about the equipment upon discharge. This is not the standard we would expect and I will ensure staff are made aware of this. Appropriate information provided upon discharge is an area we are working on currently as this has been highlighted to us as a concern in our national inpatient survey results and your comments are extremely insightful and support this, and will be fed back into our review of discharge processes.

I will ensure the comments about the food are also passed onto our catering department, the menus have been adapted recently for patients to indicate the portion size they would like, I'm sorry if this wasn't communicated to you.

I hope you are feeling better now and if you do have any further concerns about the equipment please don't hesitate to contact a member of my team on 01253 955588 so we can look into this for you.

With best wishes for the future,

Eleanor Walsh

Lead in Patient Experience and Engagement

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful