"surgery to have teeth removed"

About: Royal Blackburn Hospital

Today i had an appointment in the day surgery to have some teeth removed i turned up on time @7:30 in the morning was taken through to see the surgeon then left until 9:45 wer i was told i would be goin into surgery at10:30 app the nurse came and give me some tablets then at 11:00 i was told it would be another hr at least before i would have my surgery by this point i decided i was going home as i was a nervous patient n that is why i was there I couldnt wait any longer as my nerves got the better of me by this point the nurse thought it would be a good time to ask if i wanted to rebook my app whilst finding it funny then i got a complaints form n number to ring n cant get through

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Blackburn Hospital

Dear Mr Graham I can only apologise that you have been unable to get through to the PALS and complaints team- their number is 0800 587 2586 and whilst they do have an answerphone to leave your details on, please be assured it is regularly checked and responded to. I have checked with the team and they do not appear to have a message from you so if at all possible could you ring them again on the number above and they will deal with your concerns? I am sorry to hear that you feel our care for you has not been appropriate and timely, I can only apologise that as you saying being a 'nervous' patient you were not supported in a sensitive way so that you were able to undergo your procedure today. If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team we would really value this so that we can try to improve care for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 733716 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk. Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes Wendy Stobbs, Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful