"Kings College: Never again!"

About: King's College Hospital (Denmark Hill)

I was referred to KCH by my local endocrinologist to look at lesion in adrenal gland and I now really wish he had not! After visiting KCH for my first appointment it started to become clear that the Endocrinology Dept wanted to hijack all my other on-going treatments my local hospital look after. All sorts of appointments started to arrive and most having a very short notice which is very annoying as I am wheelchair bound and rely on my partner for transportation especially as I live over 60 miles away from KCH. I have on many occasions tried to explain to the consultants, nurses and appointment staff that its not easy for people to get time off work especially just having a few days notice. This continues to happen, for example I received an appointment in the post on Thursday 2nd April 2015 (Easter weekend: holidays Friday and Monday) for Wednesday 8th April and Thursday 9th April and there is no way my family can get time off in that short notice. I was booked in for an adrenalectomy on the 18th February 2015 and again I really wish I had not decided to have the surgery, I had already said I did not want it done at KCH once but was persuaded into having it done by two of the consultants. On arrival to the Unit/ward my medication was taken from me, one of my medications is a long lasting morphine tablet which I have been on for several years and only just increased the dose two days earlier. I was told as they do not prescribe it I was not allowed it this was alarming as I have been informed I must come off this medication slowly and monitored. Three days later I was told I was being given a substitute which in fact tuned out to be a medication I had tried a few years ago and it made me extremely ill but all the staff ignored me. I awoke from the operation and no-one wanted to tell me why I had large burn like blisters on the opposite side to the wounds which were totally untreated and have now scarred. For twenty four hours after the operation I was in such pain with my legs (separate problem) as I was not having my morphine based tablets I was so uncomfortable but no one tried to help, twenty four hours later my partner had me out of bed and much more comfortable within minutes. It appeared that 6 or 7 folded blankets were propping me up, not even pillows. My questions and queries were totally ignored by all and the consultants appeared to let all I was saying go in one ear and out of the other including a conversation about appointment times etc. The floor was never washed while I was there even with a big dirty mark next to the sink the floor was lightly swept up the middle once. Post op care not very good, I missed so many other of my tablets as they never gave them to me. Quite honestly the whole saga was a shambles and degrading. Food was dreadful, lifts not working, parking impossible, signage poor the list could go on but space here limited. I have now cancelled all other appointments with KCH and will never return!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from King's College Hospital (Denmark Hill)

I understand your desire to continue receiving care from your local hospital and today I have cancelled appointments scheduled here following our telephone conversation and informed the Consultants that you have seen here. You however informed me that you did not wish to register a formal complaint. Having subsequently read your posting I am sorry that we therefore do not have an opportunity to respond to your criticisms of your care. Should you reconsider this please do not hesitate to contact our complaints team by email kch-tr.patientcomplaints@nhs.net

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful