About: Royal Derby Hospital

Visited a&E on 5 occasions in 24 hours in order to get a minor wound to my sons hand sorted. Finally seen by a "Registrar", who wore no name badge, attention to hygiene was not great, bedside manner was appalling, and paid absolutely no respect to my feelings and wishes. "20 years experience" does not give you the right to be rude and ignorant. I have a degree in biochemistry and pharmacology and a PhD in Biochemistry. I do'tn expect to be treated like an idiot, and I do expect answers to my questions. Very Very disappointed by this visit. You can all do better, and I expect and demand it.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Derby Hospital

Dear Mr Brown Many thanks for sending us your comments regarding your recent visit to our Emergency Department (ED) with your son. We were very disappointed to note your experience was not what you would have expected and certainl;y, what we would have preferred. We will certainly send your comments to the appropriate staff concerned, however if you wish to raise this on a more formal basis, please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on either their Freephone telephone number 08007837691 or via their email account dhft.contactpals@nhs.net. They would be happy to take matter further on your behalf, if this is something you would like them to do. Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and may we take the opportunity to offer you our sincere apologies for any upset caused on this occasion. Kind regards The Patient Experience Team, Derby Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful