"Complete lack of infection control procedures on..."

About: Frimley Park Hospital (Frimley)

I visited MAU recently and was appalled at the lack of infection control procedures carried out by those treating me. 1. The medical technical assistant put me in a bay but then proceeded to fill out my paper notes on top of a clinical waste bin. The notes were then picked up and placed on other surfaces in the ward- an ideal situation for bacteria to passed on to other patients. 2. A nurse came to see me. The nurse had just removed a cannula from the person next to me but when they came in to me, there were fresh blood stains on the finger tips of their gloves as they hadn't changed them. The nurse put their dirty, bloodied glove into a drawer to grab some plasters then went to see someone else- I was horrified. 3. When my cannula was removed by the MTA they carried this out in the general patient waiting area. Once removed, the used cannula was then put on top of the domestic waste bin used by patients and visitors whilst the nurse put a plaster on my arm. I can't believe such practices are going on in a so called outstanding hospital and I couldn't wait to be discharged from the ward.I won't be recommending this ward to friends and family because they were unable to adhere to the highest level of hygiene controls that I would expect- very disappointed.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Frimley Park Hospital

We are very grateful to you for bringing these matters to our attention. We have requested our that our infection control and MAU teams investigate as a matter of urgency. Frimley Park has a good track record on infection control and inspectors have praised our practices. However we do not always get it right, as your observations have shown, and we must do better.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful