"team understaffed & overworked"

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

Came in at 8am & was quickly assessed. At 9am i was told that a bed was waiting for me upstairs (wow, how quick). I was wheel chaired up to the ward & told to take a seat for a few minutes while they get sorted for me. Two & a half hours later i am called to a room to answer a few questions & to have my blood pressure taken. when done i was asked to return to the waiting room. 3 hours later i was called back to the room and i had my blood test done. I was told to go back to reception but i was next to see the dr. 4 hours later (& after many newer patients were seen) i was looked at by the actual dr and told that i needed to be put onto an i.v drip. I was all set up with the canular etc and i had my wounds dressed. I was returned to reception and after a few hours i was called back to the drs and told that i won't be put on a drip after all but i will have a new prescription and be going home. At 9.30pm i was released to return home and all i had for 13.5 hours of hanging around an overcrowded and overheated waiting room was a new prescription! the drs and all the staff was great but they were so overworked & understaffed that the chaos was so confusing and frustrating. It was an extremely long and dragging day (so completely different to the rapid decision to keep me in and telling me there was a bed ready and waiting for me at 9am ! A horrible experience but it is impossible to know who to blame. All of those bad publicity news reports about hospitals had a new event/victim.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment. We are really sorry to hear about your experience at the Royal and that you had to wait such a long time to be treated. Our hospitals are incredibly busy at the moment but staff should have kept you informed about any delays in your treatment. To enable us to improve our services for future patients, could you send further details about which department we were treated in etc. to communications@uhl-tr.nhs.uk Kind regards, Communications team Leicester’s Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful